Fortune Cookie Research

I used fortune cookies as a way to include the conversation starters for a few reasons. Firstly, fortune cookies commonly accompany food, so makes sense to introduce them while participants are eating their meals. Secondly, people know how to interact with them; how to open them up and read the slip of paper out loud. Finally, I made the fortune cookies out of fabric so that they are reusable, and to minimise the mess and food wastage of edible cookies.

 

Origin: “Fortune cookies are often served as a dessert in Chinese restaurants in the United States and other Western countries, but are not a tradition in China. The exact origin of fortune cookies is unclear, though various immigrant groups in California claim to have popularised them in the early 20th century. They most likely originated from cookies made by Japanese immigrants to the United States in the late 19th or early 20th century. The Japanese version did not have the Chinese lucky numbers.”

I wanted to research the background of fortune cookies to make sure I wasn’t being culturally insensitive or appropriating the Chinese culture. After learning that they are not strictly Chinese, and that they were actually invented in the USA, I feel a lot better about using them in my project. I will also modify the cookies with colours, flavours, and shapes to further distance myself from the traditional cookies.

 

Traditional Fortune Cookies

I found this video tutorial which explains how to make your own fortune cookies, which I used for the Super Crit cookies. The only issue I had with this was that they are difficult to shape (you only have 30 second before they start to crack) and the fact that my cookies often turned out soft and chewy rather than crispy.

I trialled this recipe here and here.

 

Fabric
img_1028
There are also non edible versions such as fabric fortune cookies. These are made out of felt and are sewn together so that they are reusable and can have fun patterns.

 

I trialled this option and it turned out pretty successful. I like how I can use different styles of fabric, and how they can be reused and filled with new conversation starters. They are also more fun than normal fortune cookies.

 

Origami
IMG_1831-1
Another non edible version is origami cookies made out of circles of paper. They can also be made from rectangles to create a less traditional fortune pouch. Another form of origami fortune is the 3D fortune cookie.

 

I tried this version too, which was slightly harder and less effective than the sewn version. I think that these looked cool, but the paper could get ripped or damaged so I’m not sure if these are exactly reusable. A benefit to paper cookies is that you can print on the inside, and then fold open the cookie to reveal the conversation starter.

 

Bad Fortunes
screen_shot_2016-08-26_at_4.53.24_pm_landscape--850x445
Cards Against Humanity launched a range of fortune cookies with negative fortunes such as “You will probably die of a heart attack or something” and “It’s too late to stop climate change”.

 

Shop Bought

 

After trailing a few of these options, I think that a potential solution may be to have shop bought fortune cookies to ensure the shape, taste, and texture are perfect. I can then fill these remade cookies with my own conversation starters, and potentially create a box or some kind for packaging to link it to my project’s style.

 

I managed to open up the remade cookies, fill them with my own slip of paper, and then reshape them before they cooled. I also tried to add colour but this looked unappetising and made the cookies soggy.

 

 

 

Author: Melissa Dann-Hoare

Second year student at Massey University College of Creative Arts, studying Visual Communication Design. Has a passion for drawing, writing, illustrating, designing, and small cats.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started